About 4.4 million people in the U.S. used an ITIN to file taxes last year, including immigrants, international students, and others who cannot get a Social Security Number. Most of them have the same need as anyone else: a personal loan for an emergency, a car repair, a medical bill, or debt consolidation. The frustrating reality is that most mainstream banks ask for an SSN on personal loan applications, which leaves ITIN holders shut out of traditional credit.

That picture changed meaningfully by 2026. A small but growing group of lenders now accept an ITIN instead of an SSN for personal loans, and this guide names each one, with real rate ranges, loan sizes, and honest approval odds so you can pick the right option the first time.

How we compiled this: We cross-referenced lender disclosures, independent reviews from WalletHub, NerdWallet, LendEDU, Finder, and Firstcard, plus IRS and CFPB guidance, then verified each lender’s ITIN acceptance policy, published APR range, and state availability as of September 2026. We do not accept commissions for lender rankings. Last verified: September 14, 2026.


At a glance: ranked ITIN personal loan options (2026)

LenderTypeLoan RangeAPR RangeMin. Credit ScoreStatesBureau Reporting
Mission Asset Fund (MAF)Nonprofit / CDFI$300-$2,4000%NoneMost states (via partners)All 3
Self-Help FCUCredit Union$500-$25,000~10%-18%FlexibleNC + select statesAll 3
Latino Community CUCredit Union$500-$15,000~10%-18%FlexibleNC (online available)All 3
StiltFintech / Online$1,000-$35,000~8%-25%None required16 statesAll 3
Wells FargoBank (existing customers)$3,000-$100,0006.74%-26.74%~660NationwideAll 3
PNC BankBank (existing customers)$1,000-$35,000From 8.14%Not disclosedNationwideAll 3
Alliant Credit UnionCredit Union$1,000-$100,000From 8.74%~660+Nationwide (online)All 3
OportunFintech / Storefront$300-$10,000Up to 35.99%None41 statesYes
Camino FinancialFintech / Online$5,000-$35,000~18%-36%FlexibleSelect statesYes

Editorial stance: Start with Mission Asset Fund if you have zero credit history and need small amounts. Move to Self-Help FCU or Latino Community CU for competitive rates if you qualify for membership. Use Stilt if you need more than $5,000 and live in one of its 16 states. Treat Oportun and Camino Financial as accessible fallback options when credit unions decline, but read the origination fee disclosures carefully before signing.


No federal law prohibits lenders from issuing personal loans to borrowers without Social Security numbers. Lenders need a way to identify borrowers and verify tax reporting obligations, and an ITIN satisfies both. Whether a lender accepts an ITIN is a business decision, not a legal limitation.

That matters because many ITIN holders assume the problem is the law when it is really just individual lender policy. Credit unions are often the most practical starting point. Because they are member-owned nonprofits, many focus on serving specific communities and have explicit mandates to expand credit access. Credit unions in immigrant-heavy regions frequently offer ITIN lending programs with more competitive rates than online alternatives.

One 2026 development worth flagging: recent guidance urging financial institutions to factor immigration status into certain lending and compliance decisions has raised concerns among some lenders about ITIN borrowers. As of our verification date, none of the lenders in our ranked list have exited the ITIN market. The guidance does not carry the force of law, and most community lenders and fintechs have continued their programs without interruption.


Which lender is the best starting point if I have no U.S. credit at all?

A question we hear often: readers with brand-new ITINs and no U.S. credit file ask where to begin, especially when they need a small loan quickly.

The answer is Mission Asset Fund (MAF) Lending Circles. MAF runs a peer-based credit-building loan program with amounts from $300 to $2,400 at 0% APR. The group-based model involves 6 to 12 participants pooling funds and taking turns receiving the lump sum. MAF reports to all three bureaus. Participation is free but requires completing a financial education module. The program is available nationally through partner organizations.

You need a government-issued ID plus a Social Security Number or ITIN to apply. Monthly payments are debited from your checking account and reported to all three major credit bureaus. That bureau reporting is the real value: a Lending Circle cycle typically runs 6-10 months, and on-time participation can create a thin but real credit file that opens doors to mainstream products afterward.

The limitation is the small loan ceiling ($2,400 maximum) and the group-based structure, which means you wait your turn in the cycle rather than receiving funds immediately. If you need more money faster, Stilt or Oportun are your next options, covered below.


What APR should I realistically expect, and how does it compare to SSN-based loans?

This one comes up a lot: ITIN borrowers want to know how much more they will pay compared to a standard borrower.

Rates on ITIN personal loans run higher than comparable SSN-based loans, typically somewhere in the 12%-36% range, with some specialty lenders charging more. Credit strength plays a significant role in pricing. That said, the spread is not uniform across the market.

To make this concrete: on a $5,000 loan at 24% APR over 36 months, monthly payments run around $196, with total interest of about $2,068. A credit union or CDFI at 14% APR would cut that to roughly $171 per month and $1,156 in total interest. The $912 difference in total cost is exactly why starting with a credit union or CDFI matters before going to a higher-rate fintech.

The outliers at each end: Mission Asset Fund Lending Circles charge 0%, while APRs above 36% enter predatory territory and should be avoided entirely. Any lender quoting rates above 36% should be verified with your state financial regulator before you proceed.

Credit ProfileBest Achievable APRLikely APR RangeSources to Target
No U.S. credit, steady income0% (MAF)0%-18%MAF, CDFIs, local credit unions
Thin credit (6-18 months history)8%-10%10%-25%Stilt, credit unions, PNC (existing)
Fair credit (score 580-659)10%-15%15%-35.99%Oportun, Stilt, Alliant CU
Good credit (score 660+)6.74% (Wells Fargo)7%-20%Wells Fargo (existing), Alliant CU

How does Stilt work for ITIN borrowers, and who qualifies?

Stilt specializes in immigrants and international students, which makes it a practical fit for most ITIN borrowers. Loans run from $1,000 to $35,000 at a fixed APR of 8%-25%, with terms up to 36 months. Instead of a FICO score, Stilt considers education, employment, and visa status.

The geographic restriction is Stilt’s biggest limitation. It operates in only 16 states: Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin, and Virginia. That covers the largest ITIN borrower populations, including all three of the biggest Spanish-speaking immigrant states (TX, CA, FL), but borrowers elsewhere need an alternative.

There is no minimum credit score requirement. Stilt reviews current employment or employability, education, collections, and bankruptcies when evaluating applications. You will need to connect your bank account during the process so Stilt can verify income. After you apply, you get an update within 24 hours; if approved, funding typically arrives in two to three days.


What about Oportun? Is it worth it for ITIN borrowers with bad credit?

Readers frequently ask: whether Oportun is a good choice when every other lender has already said no.

Oportun has no minimum credit score requirement and accepts applicants with limited or no credit history. You need a valid photo ID and a Social Security Number or ITIN. That combination makes Oportun genuinely accessible to first-time borrowers in the U.S. credit system.

The tradeoff is cost. Oportun does not publish an overall APR range upfront, but it caps personal loan APRs at 35.99%. It may also charge an origination fee up to 10% of the loan amount, taken from the loan before funds are sent, which reduces what you actually receive. On a $5,000 loan, that 10% origination fee costs $500 before interest even starts. Factor that into your comparison.

Loan amounts run from $300 to $10,000 unsecured, with a California-only secured option up to $18,500. Oportun lets you check your approval odds and potential rates online before you formally apply, with no impact on your credit score. Use that prequalification step every time before committing.


Can I get an ITIN personal loan at Wells Fargo or PNC without being a longtime customer?

The short answer is no for Wells Fargo, and unlikely for PNC unless you already have a relationship there.

As of July 2026, Wells Fargo requires applicants to have been customers for at least 12 months. Wells Fargo does accept a driver’s license, Social Security card, or ITIN as identity documentation, so the ITIN itself is not the barrier. The 12-month banking history is. APRs run roughly 6.74%-26.74% (including a 0.25% relationship discount for autopay), with loan amounts from $3,000 to $100,000.

PNC lends $1,000-$35,000 with APRs starting at 8.14%, depending on your overall creditworthiness. PNC does not disclose a specific minimum credit score; it considers your full financial profile, including income, existing debts, and credit history.

If you already bank at Wells Fargo or PNC and have done so for over a year, applying there is almost always the right first call. Their rates are among the lowest available to ITIN borrowers. If you do not yet have that relationship, open an account now and treat the 12-month wait as time to build your credit file.


What does Camino Financial offer, and who is it best for?

This one comes up a lot among Spanish-speaking borrowers who want a bilingual lending experience.

Camino Financial offers personal loans (and small business loans) for Latino borrowers, including ITIN holders. Personal loan amounts run $5,000-$35,000 at APRs typically between 18%-36%, with terms of 24-36 months. A bilingual application is available, and funds arrive in 1-4 business days.

Camino sits at the intersection of personal and small-business lending, which makes it practical if you are self-employed or run a small business and need funds that straddle both uses. The bilingual process is a genuine differentiator for Spanish-speaking borrowers who find English-only applications difficult to navigate without making costly errors.

The 18%-36% rate range runs higher than credit unions or Stilt, so check those options first. That said, for borrowers who have been declined elsewhere and need more than Oportun’s $10,000 ceiling, Camino’s $35,000 limit and flexible underwriting can make it the right fit.


What documents do I need to apply, and how long does it take?

Readers frequently ask: exactly what to have ready before they start an application, to avoid delays.

Most ITIN personal loan lenders ask for the same core documents. Without U.S. credit history, lenders weigh alternative signals: recent pay stubs (last 2-3 months) or bank statements showing direct deposits, at least 6-12 months in your current role, a U.S. bank account with consistent activity, a stable U.S. address, and identity documents including a passport, ITIN letter from the IRS, and ideally a state-issued ID or driver’s license.

Approval timelines depend on the lender. Online lenders often provide same-day decisions, while credit unions and banks may take several business days. Plan on 10-20 minutes to complete the online application if you have your documents ready, then 1-4 business days for funding from fintechs or 3-7 business days from credit unions.

One practical note: if you do not yet have an ITIN, the IRS Form W-7 application typically takes 7-11 weeks to process. You can apply through an IRS Certified Acceptance Agent (CAA) to speed up the document verification step. Get your ITIN sorted first, then apply for the loan.


How do approval odds actually vary across lender types?

A question we hear often: what are the real chances of approval depending on which type of lender you choose?

The table below reflects our editorial assessment based on current lender criteria and community reporting. No lender publishes an official ITIN-specific approval rate, so these are directional ranges based on stated criteria and the degree of flexibility each lender has shown in underwriting.

Lender TypeApproval Odds (No U.S. Credit)Approval Odds (Thin Credit, 580-659)Approval Odds (Good Credit, 660+)
MAF Lending CirclesHigh (peer-based, no score)HighHigh
ITIN-focused credit unions (Self-Help, Latino CU)Moderate-HighHighHigh
StiltModerate (income/employment driven)Moderate-HighHigh
OportunModerate-High (no score floor)HighHigh
Camino FinancialModerate (income and stability focused)Moderate-HighHigh
Wells Fargo / PNC (existing customers)Low (likely needs some credit history)ModerateHigh
Alliant CU (online)Low-ModerateModerateHigh

Mission Asset Fund Lending Circles have one of the highest approval rates because they are peer-based and designed specifically for first-time borrowers. Stilt is also built for ITIN and visa holders with limited U.S. credit history. Both consider factors beyond the traditional credit score.


Will an ITIN personal loan help me build a U.S. credit score?

Yes, but only if your lender reports payment activity to the bureaus. Not all ITIN lenders do, so confirm reporting practices before you apply.

Stilt, Self-Help FCU, Latino Community CU, and MAF all report to the bureaus. Oportun also reports. Before signing with any lender, ask directly: “Do you report monthly payment data to Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion?” If the answer is no, or the representative is not sure, the loan will cost you money without helping your long-term credit standing.

The payoff for borrowers who choose a reporting lender is real. Even three to six months of on-time payments gives you a thin but workable file that improves your loan options going forward. Pairing an ITIN personal loan with a secured credit card that reports (see our guide on building credit with an ITIN) can move a borrower with no credit into the 600s within 12-18 months. That score unlocks meaningfully lower APRs on the next loan.


What are the biggest red flags to avoid when shopping for an ITIN personal loan?

“Guaranteed approval” usually means guaranteed bad terms. No income verification is a red flag: responsible ITIN lenders verify your ability to repay, and skipping that step means the lender does not care whether you can afford the loan.

Other warning signs:

  • APR above 36%. ITIN loan rates run higher than traditional loans, but anything above 36% enters predatory territory. Compare multiple offers before accepting.
  • Pressure to sign immediately. Legitimate lenders give you time to review terms. Pressure tactics suggest the lender knows you might decline if you understood the true costs.
  • No verifiable state license. Check that the lender is properly licensed in your state and has a legitimate business address. Unlicensed lenders operate outside regulatory oversight.

You can check lender complaints and verify licenses for free through the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau at consumerfinance.gov. According to the CFPB, immigrant and limited-English borrowers are disproportionately targeted by predatory loan products, so extra scrutiny is warranted here.


FAQs

Can I get a personal loan with just an ITIN and no SSN? Yes. No federal law prohibits lenders from issuing personal loans to ITIN holders without an SSN. Lenders such as Stilt, Oportun, Mission Asset Fund, and ITIN-friendly credit unions explicitly accept an ITIN as the primary identifier. Approval depends on your income, banking history, and credit profile, not your immigration status.

What APR range should I expect on an ITIN personal loan? Rates span a wide range: Mission Asset Fund Lending Circles charge 0% APR, ITIN-friendly credit unions like Self-Help FCU and Latino Community CU typically run 10%-18%, Stilt ranges from roughly 8%-25%, Camino Financial runs 18%-36%, and Oportun caps at 35.99%. Your actual rate depends on credit profile, income, and loan amount.

What documents do I need to apply for a personal loan with an ITIN? Most ITIN-accepting lenders ask for: your ITIN letter or card from the IRS, a valid government-issued photo ID (passport, consulate ID, or state ID), recent pay stubs or bank statements showing income, a U.S. bank account in your name, and proof of a U.S. address such as a utility bill or lease agreement.

Do ITIN personal loans build U.S. credit history? Only if the lender reports to the credit bureaus. Stilt, Self-Help FCU, Latino Community Credit Union, and Mission Asset Fund all report to all three major bureaus. Before applying anywhere, confirm the lender’s bureau-reporting practice, since not all ITIN lenders do this automatically.

How long does it take to get funded after approval? Online lenders like Stilt and Camino Financial typically fund within 1-4 business days of approval. Credit unions may take 3-7 business days. Wells Fargo, for existing customers, averages same-day funding after signing. Mission Asset Fund Lending Circles operate on a monthly cycle, so the timeline is longer.

Can I get an ITIN personal loan with no credit history at all? Yes, but your options narrow. Mission Asset Fund Lending Circles require no credit score. Stilt and Oportun both explicitly accept applicants with limited or no credit history. Both consider alternative factors such as income stability, employment history, and bank account activity instead of a FICO score.

Is Wells Fargo or PNC a good option for an ITIN personal loan? Wells Fargo accepts ITINs and offers competitive APRs (6.74%-26.74%), but you must already be a Wells Fargo customer for at least 12 months. PNC also accepts ITINs and lends $1,000-$35,000 from 8.14% APR, but similarly favors existing relationships. If you already bank with either, they are worth checking first.

Are ITIN personal loan APRs above 36% a red flag? Yes. Most financial regulators and consumer advocates, including guidance from the CFPB, consider APRs above 36% to enter predatory territory. Legitimate ITIN lenders cap their rates at or below 36%. If a lender quotes more and refuses to provide a written rate in advance, walk away and report them to your state financial regulator.

What states have the most ITIN personal loan options? Texas, California, Florida, Illinois, and New York have the highest concentration of ITIN-friendly lenders, including Stilt, Oportun (active in 41 states), Mission Asset Fund partners, and community CDFIs. Stilt is currently available in 16 states including TX, CA, and FL.

How is a personal loan with an ITIN different from a payday loan? A legitimate ITIN personal loan is an installment loan with a fixed term (typically 6-60 months), a regulated APR (usually under 36%), and bureau reporting that helps build credit. Payday loans carry triple-digit effective APRs, do not build credit, and are not regulated the same way. The two products are not comparable in cost or purpose.


Next steps: which path is right for you?

Use this decision tree to find your starting point:

  1. Zero U.S. credit history, need $300-$2,400: Start with Mission Asset Fund Lending Circles at 0% APR. Apply at missionassetfund.org and complete the free financial education module.
  2. Limited credit, need $500-$25,000, based in NC or a state with Self-Help FCU branches: Apply at Self-Help FCU or Latino Community CU for rates as low as 10%.
  3. Need $1,000-$35,000, live in one of Stilt’s 16 states: Prequalify at Stilt with a soft pull. If approved, expect 2-3 days to funding.
  4. Need a small loan fast ($300-$10,000) and have been declined elsewhere: Oportun is accessible in 41 states. Prequalify online without a hard credit pull first. Watch the origination fee.
  5. Need $5,000-$35,000, bilingual service preferred: Check Camino Financial. Compare their offer against Stilt before accepting.
  6. Already a Wells Fargo or PNC customer for 12+ months: Apply at your existing bank for the lowest APRs available to ITIN holders.

If you have not yet started building a U.S. credit file, see our full guide on building credit with an ITIN before applying. A few months of on-time payments on a secured card or credit-builder account can move you from the highest-rate tier to a meaningfully lower one, and the interest savings on a $10,000 loan at 14% versus 34% will more than repay the wait.

For borrowers exploring other loan types, see our complete overview at ITIN loans hub, or if you need a car loan specifically, our ITIN auto loan guide covers a parallel set of lenders and approval criteria.

Related guides